My Boys 2nd Birthday Party

January 23, 2012

I guess some people think I am crazy. Some must think I am fun. And some may think I am talented.

I just do it because I enjoy it and I love to celebrate people.

What am I talking about?

My extreme amounts of planning, baking, cooking and event party planning.

I start months before. What the theme is. What I will cook, how I will cook it. What time I will cook it, the ingredients, the time it will take. I think about everything, you name is I do it. Its ridiculous and people think I am crazy. But it gives me a little high, it gives me something to look forward to when I am blue. And I think for the most part people seem to have a good time when I do it.

The Event? My sons 2nd Birthday Party. I was planning on doing a Firetruck Theme, but changed because his love for tractor took over his life a couple months back.

I had been planning on doing it the Sunday before my sons real birthday, so I thought Sunday ok we will do brunch. Fun and then people can get home early and settle in not too late so they can be rested for their Monday.

I had a lot of help from my family, thank God. I do not know how I do it with a toddler running around wanting my attention constantly. But somehow I do.

I wish oh wish I had a camera when my son saw the Tractor cake I made for him. He was so happy and his face was so precious! He looked up at me and said, “Tractor Cake!!” He loved it and wanted to play with it instantly. But like a good boy he waited till all the company saw it and waited till after we sung to destroy that tractor in under 1 second flat. All worth it just for that joy in my son’s face.

Here are some pictures from the day.

I started the Tractor on top of the cake first, it took a while. I made it out of rice krispie treats, covered it in frosting and then fondant on top. Here is part of the process:

Then I just put together the tractor with icing, toothpicks and other devices to keep it together!

The tractor cookies I also made weeks in advance. Used a tractor cookie cutter and royal icing.  And put them in the freezer.

The Brunch:

I made homemade Blueberry muffins and lemon Poppyseed muffins with a glaze on top

Beautiful warm popovers

Spinach cheese mini Quiche’s

Bacon

Zucchini and Goat Cheese Frittata

Waffle Station

Mini Ham

I also made a brunch cocktail. It was a pomegranate, cranberry juice Processo drink. Very Good.

Blowing out the candles!

Tractor=Destroyed!

Cake=Yummy!

The top cake I made was golden yellow cake with a chocolate frosting. The bottom cake I made an ultra moist chocolate cake with the same chocolate frosting.On top of both those cakes I put a layer of ganache which added a deep richness to it. I also think the layer of ganache helped the cake stay very moist as well. I made the cake 2 days in advance and it was not dry at all.

This party was very fun. My son had a blast and was so excited after it was over he did not sleep for his nap. 🙂 That is when you know its a good time.

Some of you may think I am crazy for doing all this work for a two year old. But I love it, take joy in it and I wanted to celebrate something that is so special to me, my son.

Happy Happy Birthday My Sweet Little Man.

Leave a Reply

