Not enough time, when you are having fun…

March 29, 2013

Here are some pictures from the past 3 months….

photo 3 (23)

Airline Chicken Breastphoto 5 (7)

Tomato Basil Soup

photo 2 (23)

Chicken.

photo 2 (14)

Learning to “Shuck”
photo 2 (15)

photo 2 (19)

Shrimp Bisque, Lobster Roll

Orange Miso Salmon with Leek Mashed potatoes

Orange Miso Salmon with Leek Mashed potatoes

This above picture I won the school competition. You had to use Salmon, Orange and Leeks.

 

We went to the American Culinary Federation Competition last week. It was the regional competition in New York. There were over 10 schools there from the North East. Including Johnson and Wales, Culinary Institute of America, and Cordon Blu from Boston. We placed Bronze! It was the first time Connecticut has every placed in the history of ACF! We were so excited and so proud! They said we had the best Garde Manger platter as well. Lots of hard work paid off! Here are some photos…

photo 5 (2)

The Team!

photo 3 (8)

Here is our platter. This is an old French tradition, people do not actually eat this. It is all about presentation. It is made to serve, it looks hot but it is all cold food. Its all about placement, textures, technique, they can tell if it is cooked correctly. It is highly stressful, but very fun. If you can love something and hate something all at once it would be Garde Manger.

Here are some up close pics…

photo 3 (7)

photo 4 (6)photo 4 (7)photo 4 (5)

Us working on it. The whole platter took 8 hours to do. We worked on it all night long. From 10 pm till 6 am.

We also had to make a salad, appetizer, entree and dessert in 75 minutes. Here are our plates…

photo 2 (11)photo 1 (11)

photo 4 (9)

photo 3 (10)

We did well. There was some fun, crying, fears conquered, Master Chef’s judging and lots of laughing. It was intense, but I think I learned more in those 4 days then I have these past 6 months in school. It was a great opportunity and I will never forget it.

Personally these past 3 months have been hard, wonderful, stretching and renewing. My heart is open to life, change, love, and going to new heights in all areas of my life. I am excited for what life has for me. But at the same time scared to death. I guess I will look back on this time and say, “God, Chris how did you do all that?” I know for sure I could not do it without my steps of Faith I have taken, God for sure, and a lot because of my family support. Without the help from people in my life like my mom and Z I would not be able to do everything I am doing right now. I am thankful and grateful for that. I will try to update sooner then later!

Love to you all

Leave a Reply

